In a few words
Granted in 1656, “Grande-Anse” is one of the oldest seigniories of the Côte-du-Sud region. Known as “Les Aulnets” soon after, its memory was immortalized in the name given to the parish. Today, Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies is a heritage and natural municipality bordered by the St. Lawrence. The municipality also boasts a remarkable number of ancestral buildings, including the monumental stone church (1854) and its treasured artwork. Another worthwhile stop is the small procession chapel (1792), some 200 metres away, with its traditional French-inspired architecture. Lastly, less than one kilometre east of the church is the picturesque shore-side “Havre du Quai,” which offers visitors a rest area, picnic tables and lookout point. Travellers will find a most original attraction - a stone orientation table, which consists of a flat reproduction of the panorama and provides information on all visible elements of the landscape.